January 10, 2012 – Are you in a hurry?


I’ve decided that people are just crazy. Not all people mind you, but some people are just crazy.


I’ve decided this because of the way people drive.  They drive like they have absolutely no sense. Road rage is alive and well here where I live. Drivers weave in and out of traffic, they cut you off, they drive 60 in a 35 mph zone… What I love is when I’m driving the speed limit and I get a driver behind me honking and flashing their lights and flipping me off.  I’m going the posted speed limit, and the person on my tail wants me to speed so they can speed. Does this make any sense to you at all? 


Why are people in such a hurry? I mean people pass me flipping me off and looking at me as they are flying by like I’m going 10 mph, when in reality I’m going 65mph. Where are they going in such a hurry and why must be they be so angry about it?


Now, I’m not saying I don’t have the occasional outburst while driving.  The occasional “what color green are you waiting for” at a stop light when someone doesn’t move as quickly as I think they should or the blowing of the horn and the occasional “bastard” burst from my mouth when someone cuts me off are things I will admit to.  But – I’m never willing to drive my car as a weapon of some sort.


What I’ve noticed is that people just seem angry – aggressive – crazy if you will.  In some sense it scares me, in another sense it saddens me that life  has brought us to this point. People are stressed trying to get from one place to another, from one job to another. There is no time to stop and smell any sort of rose when you’re on a freeway stuck in 4 lanes of traffic which isn’t moving knowing you have to be somewhere, and knowing you are never going to make it on time.  


When we can, we need to remember to breathe, and we need to remember that getting to the finish line first isn’t nearly as important as just finishing the race.  I mean must you get to the stoplight first? Don’t all the people behind you get through the light? and if you miss that light, isn’t there always another?


♥♥♥





About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in aggressive drivers, road rage, speeding. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 10, 2012 – Are you in a hurry?

  1. Kate says:

    Simply lovely! I love how you talk about breathing, finishing the race (at a slower pace), smelling the roses – all of it reminding me simply of being in the moment. So well written and to the point. I also am constantly perplexed, annoyed, saddened, angered when I see the way people drive! I'm always saying, "What's the rush? Nothing is that important, unless you're racing to the hospital in a life or death moment." Is your life or someone else's worth getting to a stupid appointment or a job on time? But again, you bring it around to appreciating and reveling in one's life ~ the postive flows from the negative and that's beauty!

  2. I did an article on this very subject on viewshound before it shut down. I couldn't agree more!!!

Leave a comment