Pride – We Fight On


Every year when June rolls around, I’m hopeful I can write about how the United States has grown on LGBTQ issues, and acceptance has replaced tolerance when speaking of, and living with, one another.

We all know this is not the year I can write about any of those things.

Anger, hate, racism, xenophobia, misogyny, homophobia; these tools which are meant to divide us, are all on the rise. And from all accounts, are sanctioned and supported by the President and Vice President of the United States.

No, 2018-2019 has not been a year in which there has been any sort of advances in human civility.

And so, I will continue to speak to those who refuse to even ponder what it is we continue to fight for. We gays, we do not want “special” rights. We simply want the same rights as every other citizen. The right to adopt children, the right to buy a home wherever we choose, the right to work wherever we choose, the right to healthcare, the right to worship wherever we choose.

You know, those pesky human rights.

It took me 50 years to have the courage to come out and live my life as who I am. It shouldn’t be a crime or a sin or whatever authoritarian ignorance chooses to label it.

Nothing should change when we say the words: “I’m Gay.” Nothing. Until this is understood – we fight on.

For those who love, support, protect and accept us as who we are – From the bottom of my heart – I thank you.

Happy Pride. 🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈💕

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in beliefs, Change, choices, Courage, Donald Trump, family, friends, gay, Gay Marriage, Gay Pride, Gay Rights, Happiness, homophobia, human rights, Kindness, Lesbian, LGBTQ, life, love, Marriage Equality, Moral issues, Pride and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pride – We Fight On

  1. Nicole says:

    Love your posts and your views!!! As a gay 48 year old woman who has been in a relationship with a woman for 23 years, you are so right. Society has a long way to go and it is so sad….

    • barbaraweicksel says:

      Nicole, thank you so much for reading, and for taking the time to comment. We need to honor relationships such as yours and mine with my Susan for 37 years. It’s about love. That’s it. Love. Thanks again. Barb

Leave a comment