Realistic Goals


Two weeks in to the Weight Watchers Freestyle, and I have learned a few things about portion control, about carbs, about protein – but mostly I’ve been learning about me.

II know myself well enough to know I am not a joiner.  Meetings are not my thing and I have enough trouble weighing myself in front of myself, let alone other people. I don’t need that sort of stress in my life. 

I read other people’s stories on the WW App, and I’m inspired by some of these warriors, who lose and gain and lose and gain and write about it with grace and dignity, and hope – they always have hope and the strength to strive to be better. To do better.

I suppose at some point over the past few years, I must have given up hope on any number of things in my life, and took comfort in cookies and cupcakes and chips and basically anything with sugar and starch!  Don’t get me wrong, my life is good; but we all have our demons.

I’ve learned about making realistic goals. I mean, telling myself I’ll never eat another Oreo is just so unrealistic.  I’d like to write that I will never sit again with a bag of the mega-stuffed Oreos and eat all the insides and save the cookies, but like I said – We all have our demons. Besides the demons, the song does say – “…Cause the kid will eat the middle of an Oreo first and save the chocolate cookies outsides for last!” 

I’m also learning that as it is with my food, my life must also be about making realistic goals, and learning life-lessons.

The most important lesson for me so far – You can’t fix people.  Period.  No ifs, ands, or buts.  You just can’t.  

I found this little meme online yesterday as I was reading stories of women who are fixers .on my WW App.  It’s powerful, and it resonated with me, and it’s on my realistic list of goals:

“ I’m so sick of the

excuse

“they’re still you mom/dad/sister/brother/etc”

No, toxic is toxic.

You have the right

To cut off anyone off

Who is unhealthy

To you! 

Week Three starts today – I’m down 9.6 lbs, in my physical weight, and feeling free of some emotional weight.

“I am brave, I am bruised,

 I am who I’m meant to be,

 this is me.”

img_8488

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in beliefs, betrayal, Change, choices, Courage, friends, Happiness, health, Kindness, life, love, Uncategorized, Weight Watchers, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Realistic Goals

  1. Cheryl says:

    Barb, we can all relate to what you wrote. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment