January 9, 2012 – Menopause = No Sleep


I’ve been waking up at 3:00am for quite some time now. At first I hated it, now – I’ve quite gotten used to it.  It’s like my own personal “quiet time.” I come downstairs, I put on the kettle, make my white spiced chai tea, grab my laptop and begin my day. At 3:00am!  Am I a morning person or a night person? I don’t really know anymore.


I didn’t appreciate a full nights sleep when I was fortunate enough to get it.  I wasn’t grateful enough, I took it for granted.  I was never one who had trouble sleeping, I was always one of those people who could sleep anywhere at any time. My Dad was like that. I remember when he would sit down in his favorite recliner and the moment his head hit the back of the chair – he was  snoring.  As a teenager I would take those few precious seconds between his sitting down and his head hitting the back of the chair to ask for the car!  It worked most of the time, unless of course my mother was home!


This waking up at 3:00 am is a menopause thing, along with the fact that the temperature of my body has risen about ten degrees. My face flushes, I sweat, I have the look of being permanently embarrassed, which in itself is embarrassing.  It’s a lesson in coping I’m supposed to be learning, and perhaps a lesson in being comfortable wearing short sleeves no matter the size of my arms!


When I awaken and it’s like 5:30am I have that panic feeling one gets when they have overslept. I feel like half of my day is gone, and then I realize that really the whole day is still in front of me.  It’s crazy.


My mother didn’t handle menopause well. She didn’t sleep either, and she her mood swings were something that books could have been written about. I learned early on to just do what she said and stayed out of the line of fire.


I remember one moment very clearly when I forgot and ventured into the snake pit that was my mother during a rather bad day she was having.  At the end of what was a memorable menopause rant, she informed me that one day when I was going through menopause and I wasn’t sleeping she hoped I didn’t have a daughter bugging the hell out of me.  She informed me that I’d understand what she was talking about when the moment came.


She was right – I understand.







About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to January 9, 2012 – Menopause = No Sleep

  1. Kate says:

    Excellent as always…and funny as hell, too! You sound like me though, in the fact that with menopause, I don't try to fight it. If I can't sleep, I don't sleep, and I don't get all twisted up about it…just accept it as peacefully as possible. Also, how do you make sleeplessness sound almost lovely…that's a gift my friend!

  2. Stephanie M says:

    Only recently I learned that my mother wanted to move out during her mom's menopause because it was so bad. Her mom was an older mom and went through it when my mom was 20. Single Catholic women didn't move out at 20 in 1964. So she got married.

  3. Oh gosh, already starting this journey so I feel your pain. I wake up around 3 every morning as well, we should chat, LOL.

Leave a Reply

