Are You An American Patriot?


So, all you folks still trashing the athletes who are choosing to exercise their constitutional right to protest – are you leaving the same sort of scathing comments about Donald Trump and his degradation of women?

Are all you protest haters as outraged at the Republicans and their support of the racist, misogynist, xenophobic, homophobic Donald Trump? Or does he get a pass because he wears his flag lapel pin everywhere he goes?

Exercising your constitutional rights is as American as it gets.  All you women complaining about what you perceive as this NFL travesty – would you have been complaining about the women who protested and fought to give you the right to vote? Would you have called them trash and banned them to the kitchen?  How about equal pay and the women fighting for that? Are they trash because they are protesting?  How about birth control? Are the women still fighting for your right to have birth control trash?

Protesting, marching, kneeling, carrying placards, locking arms and chanting, standing truth to power – there is nothing more American.

Or – are you trashing these guys for another reason?  Think about it?  If the white players were kneeling, would you still be trashing them? I’m not accusing – I’m only asking everyone to think about what they say, and why and how they say it.

To me, it boils down to this: Is the Star Spangled Banner and the American flag more scared than your right to protest? Or – are they a part and parcel of who you are an as American?

I never wear a flag pin – do you think of me as being un-American? I have stood arm in arm with my fellow man and marched on the streets of San Diego for gay rights – do you think of me as un-American?  I refuse to say “one nation under God” when I recite the Pledge of Allegiance – does this make me less of an American?

Flag wavers and those who are quick to say things like: “Love it or leave it” or telling someone to “go back to Africa” are convinced they set the bar when it comes to being an American. They love to call themselves “Patriots.”

Merriam-webster.com defines the word Patriot as follows:

a person who loves and strongly supports or fights for his or her country

Well, I think of myself as a Patriot. I love my country, and I will support and fight for everyone’s right to protest. For me it’s not about waving a flag or wearing a pin. It’s about everyone having the same rights and freedoms regardless of whether or not I agree with them. It’s about being proud of how I treat others.  It’s about being proud of my military heritage and honoring those traditions. It’s about being proud of who I am as a lesbian and fighting for equality in a world that loves to discriminate against that which they don’t understand.

Life isn’t equal for every American. And no matter what you may believe, not everyone has the same chances or choices.

Donald Trump and his band of followers have brought out the worst of who we are as Americans. He’s opened the divide, he’s taken us back to the era of the straight white male, and their sense of white-privilege. And that’s not being a patriot – that’s being a bigot, a racist, a misogynist, a xenophobic, a homophobic angry white man.

Kneeling during the National Anthem is the least of our problems…

flag

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

