When Religion Trumps Love


I’ve spent some time thinking about the whole Kim Davis-Wallace-McIntyre-Davis / Pope thing.  I wanted to just go off and vent, but…  I took the higher road and just let the whole thing play out.

Now, there is the: Well the Pope met with his gay friend thing, and the Pope never asked to meet with Mrs. Davis-Wallace-McIntyre-Davis thing, and it’s an Archbishop who liked Pope Benedict and wanted Pope Francis to look bad thing.  It’s like a scene out of the halls of a Junior High School.

Blah, Blah, Blah…

It’s left me to wonder a few things.

  • When does religion trump friendship?

I ask because Pope Francis called to meet with his gay friend, and yet – in the religious world in which he is the head – he doesn’t welcome his friend, he doesn’t honor his friend, and he would never officiate at the marriage of his friend.  So – he’s his friend, but he has conditions on that friendship.

Is that really being a friend? The whole I love you, but I can’t support your wanting to marry the person you love, and you’re not really accepted in my church thing – Is that really a friendship based on love, respect, compassion? Is that really a “I’ll be there for you” sort of friendship?

  • When does religion make lying okay?

I ask this because Mrs. Davis-Wallace-McIntyre-Davis has these lawyers who are affiliated with Liberty University Law School/Jerry Falwell Ministries.  They have outright lied, been caught in the lies, and yet continue to lie.

They have an agenda, an anti-gay agenda, and they stop at nothing to continue their quest against the homosexual. Sort of like a crusade.  What sort of religion is that?

I have many more questions, but mainly I wonder why these folks who profess to be Christians don’t follow their Jesus.  Not the dogma of their church or the beliefs of their hate-filled leaders – but their Jesus.

I mean, if you have to follow someone, why can’t you follow the Jesus who loved and respected everyone. The Jesus who walked among the dregs of society and washed their feet and blessed them and told his disciples:

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

I don’t see any conditions there, any judgments, any restrictions. And yes, I know there are other rules from Jesus, but really – isn’t this one the most important?

Why do people insist on making it so very complicated?

1-1-DSC_0250

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in beliefs, choices, Christian, Gay Rights, LGBTQ, Marriage Equality, religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

