Things To Know Before We Die


I was roaming the aisles of our local Barnes and Noble yesterday afternoon and I came across this book by John Izzo titled: “The Five Secrets You Must Discover Before You Die.”

I pulled the book off the shelf and started leafing through it. Leafing led to reading snippets, and the reading of snippets led to sitting on a chair reading word for word taking notes.

Maybe because I’m going to be 63 this year and I know there is more of my life behind me than in front of me – I feel the need to live my life to the fullest and to be the best person I know how to be.

Here are the Five Secrets Mr. Izzo believes we must discover before we die.

  1. Be True To Yourself
  2. Leave No Regrets
  3. Become Love
  4. Live The Moment
  5. Give More Than You Take

I was only confused by #3 – Become Love.  I wasn’t sure what that meant – and then I read this:  “life is love, and if you miss love, you miss life.” ~ Leo Buscaglia

It’s pretty clear to me that the only thing that matters when you get to the end of your life is love.  From the things that I’ve read, and the things I’ve experienced, people who are dying don’t surround themselves with piles of cash and bank statements on their deathbed; they surround themselves with photos of loved ones, with photos of vacations that were filled with love and happiness; and the only thing they spoke of was the love they gave and the love they received throughout their lives.

They also speak of regrets and what-ifs and I should haves – which covers all of the things Mr. Izzo says we should discover before we die.

The Be True To Yourself is the hardest for me.  I try; but there are times when I find myself defending who I am and what I believe way more than I feel I should have to. I don’t understand why it matters so much to so many what I believe.

I don’t struggle with my beliefs – I struggle with those who insist I’m wrong. And it’s not so much a struggle as it is me not understanding why we just can’t let people be. So we believe different things – does this mean we are no longer human beings? Does it mean we no longer love our fellow man?  Does it mean we no longer treat each other with kindness and respect? Does this mean you are no longer my friend? I don’t understand believing in something that makes you separate from others, when the whole purpose of life is to love…  These – these are my struggles…

Read over the Five Secrets again and think of your life as you’re reading. How are you doing? Have you discovered the secrets?

Memorial Park

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in beliefs, Change, choices, Courage, death, faith, family, friends, Happiness, home, Kindness, life, love, religion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things To Know Before We Die

  1. Cheryl Wentz says:

    I read this twice, Barb. Lots to ponder and re-think.

Leave a Reply

