The Road To Hell


Today I was sitting in a Panera Bread eating my lunch.  This man came up to me and asked if he could sit with me and chat.  Not wanting to offend, I said yes.  Turns out he was a “Christian Minister” and what follows is part of the conversation…

  Minister: Are you a Christian?

  Me:  Well, what do you consider a Christian?

  Minister: You live your life in accordance with the Bible, you follow the teachings of Jesus, you go to church, you tithe to your church, you follow the bylaws of your church – and you spread the word of God everywhere you go.

  Me: Well, by those standards – no – I am not what you would consider   a Christian.

  Minister: Well then – what are you?

  Me:  I’m a human being.

  Minister: NO – what religion do you believe in?

  Me: I believe in human kindness. I believe we are all one people – all deserving of love, respect and kindness.

  Minister:  So – you have no faith?

  Me: I have an abundance of faith.

  Minister: But you don’t go to church, you follow no religion – how can you have any faith?

  Me: Some days it isn’t easy – but most days I believe in the goodness each of us have within ourselves to help others, to love others, to show respect and kindness toward one another.

  Minister: You’re a dreamer.

  Me:  As are you.

  Minister: If you don’t follow the teachings of Jesus, you are damned to walk the road that leads to hell.

  Me: I don’t believe in hell.

  Minister: Well, what do you believe in?

  Me: Love, Kindness, Goodness, Tolerance, Respect,

  Minister: You need Jesus in your life.

  Me: How do you know this? You don’t know me at all. You know nothing about my life, you know nothing of what I do in my life – And yet – you judge me. 

  Minister: I’m not judging – I’m telling you, you need Jesus.

  Me: And if I don’t have Jesus?

  Minister: You are on the road to hell – there is no saving your soul – there is no hope for your life…

  Me: I live a good life – I’m kind, I’m loving, I’m tolerant and respectful and yet – you’re telling me if I don’t have Jesus – nothing about my life matters?

  Minister: Jesus can save you.

  Me: I don’t need saving.

  Minister: You are on the road to hell.

  Me: Well – my road is paved with good intentions.

  Minister: You need Jesus

  Me: You need to leave now…

This – this is what makes me crazy.  This man had never seen me before – and God willing – will never see me again. And yet – he felt he had the absolute right to tell me my life didn’t matter unless I had Jesus making all my decisions.  This man was an ordained minister – supposedly a man of God – telling me my life didn’t matter. He certainly did nothing that would entice me to follow his religion. If anything – he convinced me I don’t need to go to church to be a good, loving, kind, caring person.

I have people of all religions and no religions in my life. I love them all, I respect them all, and I do not judge them. I respect that this is what they need in their life to get them from day to day, and I would never tell them their life didn’t matter – every life matters.

Apparently, I’m on the road to hell – I wonder where that intersects with the yellow-brick road?

yellow_brick_road_pic

 

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in beliefs, betrayal, California, Change, choices, Christian, Courage, evangelical christians, faith, family, friends, Happiness, health, home, Kindness, life, love, News, religion, universe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Road To Hell

  1. Cheryl Walters Wentz says:

    What makes evangelizing “Christians” think that it’s ok to judge the way another human being seeks spiritual solace? I find it offensive and judgemental.

  2. Ah, the arrogance of righteousness. I don’t think I would have had as much patience as you. I have had similar confrontations. Although I am no longer a member of any church, I tend to know the bible better than most preachers and can quote them enough verses to make their heads spin and they leave very frustrated. Their’s is the kind of zeal that drives away as many as they convince, maybe more.

    • barbaraweicksel says:

      Larissa – it was my patience that drove him crazy. I don’t understand the in-your-face sort of religion. Thanks so much for reading and taking the time to comment.
      xo

  3. Daila says:

    Dear Lord. Seriously? That is just ridiculous. These people drive me insane and are one of the reasons I quit going to church years ago. I have many judgmental thoughts in my head right now – but I guess that would just be me doing the same thing he did (judging). ANYWAY – That sucks that that happened, he had no right to do that, and I shudder to think of what does on in the church he “leads”. BOO. I have now resumed going to church – but this place is such a wonderful community of open, caring, accepting people that don’t just talk about what “should” be done. They actually do it – all the time. Best of luck that today is a better day for you my friend. XOXO

    • barbaraweicksel says:

      Daila – I was so proud of myself for being calm… He wanted me to react, and I simply did not. Thanks for reading and for taking the time to comment. So happy you have found a church that truly nourishes your soul.
      xoxo

  4. Virginia says:

    That was a good story, I like that you discussed it as far as you did . It always amazes me how people can be so ignorant and say they carry the word of God. Thanks again for sharing your experiences.

  5. You are an Angel in my life. This man was delusional.

Leave a Reply

