2015 – And So It Begins


Ready or not – another year looms in front of us – which also means another year is behind us.

The question is – what will you do with this New Year – this 2015?

I am not a New Year’s resolution sort of gal. I have found that my resolutions – as great as they may sound – are too far-reaching – and in the end I am more disappointed with myself for falling short – once again – of the demands I have placed on myself.

There are no resolutions this year. No lose weight, no write a blog a day – no take a picture a day – none of that has even crossed my mind.

There are only the promises I have made to myself to be a better person. I can be kinder, I can be more loving, I can be more understanding, I can be less judgmental, I can be me.  A better version of me – but me.

I spent a portion of yesterday (New Year’s Eve) afternoon at Ft. Rosecrans National Cemetery.  There was a woman and her little daughter, both wrapped in blankets, sitting in lawn chairs beside the grave of a fallen solider. The grave was new – so this woman’s loss was new – our nation’s loss was new.

My heart ached for her loss – for her pain – for her suffering. It was in that moment that I realized I needed to live my best life, and it was in that moment that I made those promises to myself to be kinder, to be more loving, more understanding.

People are suffering every single day. They survive things I can only imagine. They beg for food – for money – for clothes. They live in boxes. People face Cancer, Alzheimer’s. They die in War…

I know I won’t be perfect every single day, I know I will make mistakes. Still – I’m going to be a better me.

How about you?

1-DSC_0280

 

 

 

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in beliefs, California, Courage, death, family, friends, going home, Happiness, home, human rights, Kindness, life, love, Military, New Years Resolution, News, Photography, San Diego, Veterans, Violence and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2015 – And So It Begins

  1. Tim says:

    Hi… I clicked into your blog during the holidays…I can not remember how I found it…I was reading something else, I am just glad I found it..thanks.
    I had the same thoughts you blogged about here and there after all the holiday stuff with the priviledged Americans I know here in france.
    So..to answer your question……I will keep reading blogs… a goal I can keep.. I realize ..it makes us feel united.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Tim in France

    • barbaraweicksel says:

      Tim – Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. I’m happy you found me and I agree with you – blogs do keep us connected. To me – it makes the world seem just a little bit smaller – I mean – you’re in France, I’m in California – and yet we are connected. Makes me want to keep on writing. Thanks again. Barb in California

  2. njgaylor says:

    I agree with you, no point in pointing added stressors of “resolutions” just strive to be the best you possible. Peace.

Leave a Reply

