I Don’t Care About Renee Zellweger’s Face.


When the top story on my news-feed is about how different Renee Zellweger’s face looks – I know it’s time to shut all my electronics off and try and have myself a zen moment.

Is this really who we’ve become? Is this truly who we are as a people?  We don’t write or talk about curing cancer, we don’t write or talk about the struggles with Alzheimer’s, we don’t write or talk about how we are still at war – and our soldiers are still dying.

We don’t write or talk about how children in the United States of America go to bed hungry, go to school hungry, and live every day, hungry.  I’m not talking about another country here – I’m talking The United States of America…

We don’t write or talk about the inequities of the American people – but we will write and talk about who is to blame for these inequities that only seem to exist in the minds of the dreaded “do-gooders.”

Elections in this country are no longer about who is the best person for the job. They are about who has the most money, and who is willing to do the best job at trashing their opponent.  They are no longer “free” elections when millions of people are prevented from voting because of redistricting or photo ID’s or some other form of “poll taxing.”

But – our free press is not writing or talking about these things. These things don’t sell papers or magazines.

The people who write and publish – well, they only write and publish the things that make them money.   You know – Renee Zellweger’s face, and Kim Kardashian’s buttocks.

When did we stop caring about one another and what we will leave for our children and our children’s children?   When did it become more important that the Giudice’s are going to jail than a child going to school hungry? Seriously – when did entertainment overtake caring about our own humanity?

Personally, I don’t believe my grandchildren’s children will care about the face of Renee Zellweger. It may be more important to their survival that the air is clean and the water is safe to drink and people still have a moral code that doesn’t revolve around how one looks, but rather revolves around how one treats others.

Just sayin…

kindness matters 1

 

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in beliefs, Celebrity, Children, choices, Courage, elections, family, friends, Grandchildren, home, human rights, Kindness, life, love, Moral issues, News, politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I Don’t Care About Renee Zellweger’s Face.

  1. Very true. Although I think the point of the media is to show that even Hollywood is full of insecurities.

    • barbaraweicksel says:

      Michelle, I never thought of it that way – you may be right – but still… we are a nation obsessed with celebrity – and to some degree – I will include myself in that statement. 🙂 Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment!

  2. Cheryl Wentz says:

    Perfectly stated, Barb. I think it’s a shame she felt an inner or societal pressure to change the way she looked.

  3. tracy says:

    Couldn’t agree more with this post! We’ll written and thoughtful.

Leave a Reply

