Pride is a little more proud this year.


I’ve been asked numerous times why it is that “you gay people” need a parade.  One person suspected that it was merely a chance for me to “prance around in your underwear.”  Let me be clear – I have never pranced around in my underwear in public – ever.

My first Pride Parade changed my life. It was the first time in my then 50 years that I allowed myself to acknowledge in public that I was gay. When I saw that 300 ft flag and my sweet Susan insisted that I go and grab hold of it – It was the first time I openly wept and accepted who I was, and it was the first time ever that I understood I was not alone.

For some of us Pride is a life-changing, life-affirming event that changes how we look at the world from that moment on. There are those that like to focus on the drinking and partying but if you were to ask my friends – they will tell you that Pride is really about – Pride.

For as long as I can remember being gay in a straight world has been a struggle. Prejudice, ignorance and intolerance tend to make the environment in which we live unhealthy and unsafe. We were dragged behind trucks, beaten unmercifully, spat upon, and killed for nothing more than having the courage to live our lives as who we are.

Pride was the one time it felt safe to stand on the street and be your gay self. It was a day to refuel and brace yourself for the coming year – for the struggles and battles that were looming. It was a day of celebration – our day of jubilee.

Pride has a whole new meaning this year. There is less hiding and more celebrating as laws change along with the hearts and minds of the American people.

I won’t be in San Diego this year when that 300 ft. flag comes down Sixth Avenue. I won’t be able to walk out onto the street and grab hold of that flag that changed my life 11 years ago, and gather strength and courage from the thousands who are walking under and around this beautiful flag.

I may not be there in person – but my heart will be under that flag and with all of you as we celebrate the wonderfulness of Pride.

San Diego PrideHappy Pride…

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in California, family, friends, gay, Gay Marriage, Gay Rights, home, homophobia, Lesbian, life, love, San Diego and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pride is a little more proud this year.

  1. Larissa says:

    PRIDE is more than a parade. It is a time of, as you said, finding out you are not the only one. It is a time to discover and celebrate self with a lot of other people like you. The thing you did not talk about is that it lets the communities we live in know that we do indeed exist. We are not an isolated freaky incident, we are normal fun loving serious human beings. The more we put a personal face out to the public, the more people will come to see we are not the abomination the righties scream about. We are just like you but we love a little differently or identify a little differently and yes, I am the same person you have been working with the last five years. PRIDE is a time to challenge the status quo. It is like all freedom marches but with a little color and excitement.

Leave a Reply

