One Giant Pile of Poo.


I’ve decided that in the grand scope of life, this one Presidential Election isn’t going to make or break us. Indeed – life will go on after the polls close on November 6, 2012.

I believe what we must ask ourselves is how we all live with one other after the polls close on November 6, 2012.  All the snarky remarks, all the lies, all the predictions, all the insults, all the gay-bashing, all the Republican-bashing, all the Democratic-bashing, all the bashing of everything  and everyone  – It will all turn  into the giant pile of poo when this election is over, and then what?

How do we keep religion, political parties and gender out of the mix and come together as human beings?  How do we push aside the poo and understand that without one another we will all simply be what we are right at this moment; stuck in our own truths.

Why can’t we just let people be?  I don’t care what you believe as far as religion goes – why would you care what I believe?  The beauty of America is that we have the freedom to believe or not believe whatever we choose.  Just because someone doesn’t believe what you do or read the same book you do or follow the same god you do doesn’t mean you must demonize them.  Just let them be.

And why do people care who I love? Why does it matter to anyone that I’ve been in love with the same woman for over 30 years? And why, instead of making us look like we are spawns of the devil, isn’t someone saying: “30 years? How wonderful!”  Isn’t love simply – love?

To be honest, I’m not sure how I’m going to look at the Republicans in my life after this election and find common ground with them.  I know I need to just let them be, for they are to enjoy the freedom of their beliefs – then again – they voted for me not to enjoy the same freedom that they enjoy and that is poo which goes right to my heart.  Is there any common ground with these people? Perhaps not and perhaps just walking away would be the right thing to do for me. Like I said – Just let them be.

We all live in the same space and breathe the same air, but the playing field is not a level one.  We all know this, and we all at one time or another acknowledge this. Any one of us could be living on the streets, or in shelters or in a tent under a bridge if circumstances in our lives had been different.  These are the people who need us to put aside all the poo of politics and just help when and where we can.

After all the poo of this election – I’m going to focus on the good in the world – where to find it, how to give it, how to write it.  In the end, we are all only here on this earth for a short time, and it’s not about how much time you have, it’s about what you do with the time you have that really matters.

I’m going to find the good poo and roll in it!

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in 2012, 2012 Presidential Election, beliefs, Change, elections, faith, family, gay, Gay Marriage, Gay Rights, home, human rights, life, love, News, politics, religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Giant Pile of Poo.

  1. Aloha Barbara!

    When it comes to responding to GOP oriented souls – I ask them to ponder;

    “Those who deny freedom to others, deserve it not for themselves; and, under a just God, can not long retain it.”

    The Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln edited by Roy P. Basler, Volume III, “Letter To Henry L. Pierce and Others” (April 6, 1858), p. 376.

Leave a Reply

