Chick-fil-A just wants to glorify God, at our expense


You all know that Chick-fil-A will never end their contributions to anti-gay organizations, right? You know that no matter what they may say and however they change the wording in their comments, money from the customers will continue to flow to the anti-gay Christian groups bent on saving America, right?

It’s not about the chicken or that cute little cow in their commercials; it’s about what it’s always been about – hating on the gays.

They may say things like: “… the Chick-fil-A culture and service tradition in our restaurants is to treat every person with honor, dignity and respect – regardless of their belief, race, creed, sexual orientation or gender. We are a restaurant company focused on food, service and hospitality; our intent is not to engage in political or social debates.”

This many sound all politically correct but what I see when I read this is the following: “Chick-fil-A will be more than happy to take your money no matter who you are, but – we will use your money regardless of your belief, race, creed, sexual orientation or gender against you if we deem you a scab on the face of humanity.”

I’m just wondering how the president of the company’s remarks about gay people falls in the not engaging in political or social debate category.
It’s not about how well they train their staff to treat their customers that matters to me. What matters to me is where my money goes after the fact. Yes, I’m aware that once my money goes into their cash register it is no longer my money, which is why I have chosen to not give them any of my money – ever again.

They state the following:

“The Chick-fil-A Corporate Purpose is: To glorify God by being a faithful steward of all that is entrusted to us and to have a positive influence on all who come into contact with Chick-fil-A.”

See this is where they lose me. I don’t believe that you glorify any God when you send money to keep a certain portion of God’s people from having equality. And – if this is the God that you spend your money and time glorifying – then I don’t believe you deserve my money.

Let me be clear – not all Christians are these hate-filled, anti-gay types of people. Some actually do believe in the teachings of Jesus when he stated that we were to love one another. Still, we need to understand and acknowledge the hatefulness of those who say they are Christian and yet follow the road that leads to hate, racism, discrimination and inequality all under the guise of glorifying their God.

Chick-fil-A is not going to change. They will change the wording to get what they want, and they may change the way the money gets funneled to groups like Focus on the Family and the Alliance Defense Fund, but know that the money will find its way to these anti-gay organizations. They believe that this is what their God wants them to do – what their God actually demands them to do, so they will continue to discriminate “to glorify God.”

To those of you who say: “Hey, I’m not homophobic, and I’m going to keep buying the chicken and the waffle fries and those shakes.” I say: “Hey – that makes you a person who is contributing to organizations that are anti-gay, and that makes you a hater. Enjoy your chicken combo.”

To those of you who say: “Hey, it’s only chicken.” I say: “Hey – it’s only love.”

To those who say: “Hey, they aren’t stopping you homos from walking in the door and buying the chicken.” I say: “Well – I don’t really know what to say that would be intelligent and lady-like.”

I’ll leave you to say it for me.

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in 2012, beliefs, Change, Courage, faith, family, friends, gay, Gay Marriage, Gay Rights, home, homophobia, Lesbian, life, love, Moral issues, News, politics, religion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

