Life is so short… Treasure the moments…


I’m cleaning out my den in order to remodel it.  It’s been ten (10) years of putting things in boxes, drawers, bags, etc., with the intention of cleaning everything out one day.  Well, that day has arrived.

Today I was reminded of all that is precious in life, and how quickly it can all be gone, and how quickly it can all change.  In my treasure trove I found the following:

  • A stuffed lion that belonged to my beloved cocker spaniel, Max.  This lion has no eyes as Max loved to pull the little eyes out of all of his toys.  This stuffed lion, with no eyes had me in tears.
  • A fly fishing rod that belonged to my Uncle, who taught me how to fish for trout. Just holding this rod in my hands reminded me of sitting by the stream, pulling out the thermos, and enjoying a cup of coffee with him. Fishing with him – well – it wasn’t about the fish, that’s for sure.
  • A camouflaged hat that belonged to a serviceman whom I did not know who was killed in Iraq.  When I was working at an eBay store this man’s family came through the door with all of Army belongings wanting to sell them. I sat with his Mother while his Father took each thing out of the duffle bag and handled it with such love and care.  My heart broke on that day – and again this morning as I pulled this hat that his family insisted I have, out of its hiding place.
  • Pictures of a family that is no longer.  Mother, Dad, my brother and myself.  Aunts, Uncles, Cousins…  I looked at the pictures and I wept – for what was – for what could have been – for what is no longer possible…
  • Cards and notes from a past love…  I shook my head and wondered exactly what I was thinking  – and then placed the cards and notes into the shredder!
  • A spiffy hat that belonged to my Uncle Mike.  I smiled as I placed it on my head and wished more than anything I could share one more afternoon of eating steamed Chesapeake Bay Blue Crabs and drinking Black Label beer with him.  I learned so much from him and should have told him more often how much I loved him.
  • Pictures of Susan and I from 30 years ago! My life changed when I met her. I look at these pictures and I see us then, as I see us now… Happy that we finally found each other…

Life is so short.  The politics of the moment will pass. We all will survive no matter the outcome.

Meanwhile, treasure what you have – love the people who love you back, and never, ever give up on what you know to be right and good about the world…

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in 2012, beliefs, Change, Courage, elections, faith, family, friends, gay, home, human rights, life, love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life is so short… Treasure the moments…

  1. Cheryl Walters Wentz says:

    Love the pic of you and Susan

  2. Beautiful, Barb! Agreed, the momentos we hold onto are often that much more special because of the emotions, thoughts, people, and events they evoke in our minds. Love this, thanks for sharing. Sentimental, heartfelt, and as always, universally touching. xoxo

Leave a Reply

