The Equal Rights Amendment – Some 89 years later – Still waiting for Ratification


The Equal Rights Amendment was first proposed in 1923 to affirm that women and men have equal rights under the law.  Some 89 years later this Amendment is still not a part of the United States Constitution.

The wording of the Equal Rights Amendment is really quite simple:

  • Section 1. Equality of rights under the law shall not be denied or abridged by the United Stated or by any state on account of sex.
  • Section 2. The Congress shall have the power to enforce, by appropriate legislation, the provisions of the article.
  • This amendment shall take effect two years after the date of ratification.

That’s it – No muss – No fuss – just Equal rights – Period.

Perhaps if we had gotten the ERA we wouldn’t be facing this “War on Women” that the Republican faithful are now waging.  There would be no way to wage the war if everything were equal, now would there?

38 States are needed to ratify this amendment – the total that have ratified has been at 35 since 1982.  The amendment has been reintroduced into every Congress since that time, with the conviction that at some point women will be given the rights that are inherent in every American citizen.

In doing some research into the ERA – I looked at the map of the states who have and have not ratified the ERA – there is most definitely a pattern.

The States in red on the following map are the States who have not ratified the ERA.

ERA map

Now – I want you to look at this map from 1861 of the Free States and the Slave States.

One more map for you – This is a map with what is known as “The Bible Belt” marked in red.

Do you notice anything similar in the maps?

Now – before any of jump all over me that I’m making this a southern, religious thing – the maps don’t lie.  This is what it is.  I’ll let you make up your own little scenarios as to why the maps look-alike when it comes to the States that are listed in red on all three maps. Even Utah, Nevada and Arizona fall into the “Territories open to slavery.”

So – does religion play a part in this struggle for women’s equality? I know for me, I don’t understand women who believe that feminism is evil.  I don’t understand any religion that tells you that you must submit to your husband -“For rebellion is as the sin of witchcraft…” 1st Samuel 15:23 And the whole obey thing – well – thankfully I wasn’t raised in the South!

I believe in equal rights for all Americans. If you want to believe that God wants you to submit to your husband, then by all means you submit. I don’t understand it – but – I’ll respect your decision, and I’ll fight for your right to make that decision.  I’m only asking one thing in return.  Don’t believe things like what I read on this Christian website that said the following: “The feminist agenda is not about equal rights for women. It is about a Communist, anti-family, anti-Christian, political movement that encourages women to leave their husbands, kill their babies, practice witchcraft, abandon homemaking, and become lesbian.”

Like we lesbians have that much power!

The fight for the Equal Rights Amendment must continue. We owe it to the women who came before us and have fought the good fight to get us to this point.  We owe it to them and to our daughters and our granddaughters and our great granddaughters and for all the generations of women to come.   We owe it to all women – everywhere…

  • Section 1. Equality of rights under the law shall not be denied or abridged by the United Stated or by any state on account of sex.

How hard is this to understand?

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in 2012, abortion, beliefs, Change, Children, Divorce, evangelical christians, faith, family, friends, gay, Gay Rights, Grandchildren, health, home, human rights, Lesbian, life, love, Moral issues, politics, religion, Women, Women's Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Equal Rights Amendment – Some 89 years later – Still waiting for Ratification

  1. Patrick Gage says:

    Although I certainly am not against equal rights, I have to say that this is probably the most vague Constitutional amendment I have ever heard. I can just hear people twisting it and conforming it to make all kinds of laws. I would much rather if it was more specific, as in what “rights” it talks about.

  2. leslie I'mKar'n says:

    Absolutely ridiculous! How can you tell when men run the planet? All their energy goes into keeping everyone else DOWN – where they can best manage them!(o.yeah, and there’s a lot of football, too..lol) Funny, isn’t it that questioning the validity of the 2nd amendment at this juncture in time is verboten, but equal rights? That one’s constantly on the butcher block! These right wingers don’t get that they’re cutting their own shmekels off in the long run anyway! Sigh..they’d best start ‘boning’ up on their yoga! LOL. Now you’ve got me going, Barb..lol..

  3. Wow, 89 years and still waiting. That is crazy. It is so hard for some people to even deal with the idea of change, even when it is for the better. I think we should ALL be treated equal, but in this world it is seeming like less and less probable that I will see that in my life time. I agree with you Barb that the concept of equal rights is not difficult, but people make it out to be. Some prefer things be left the same, as opposed to making any kinda of change. Rather archaic, right? Thanks for the post, I enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

