Complain: Express dissatisfaction or annoyance about a state of affairs or an event.


Yesterday when I logged on to my Facebook page I read this little blurb that a “friend”  had written.  As I read this little blurb I was thinking – “What the hell is she thinking?”  And then I was thinking – “What the hell is she saying?” – And then it was – “Why the hell am I still reading?”  That soon turned in to – “I’m writing and telling her she’s crazy.”

Well, I did write a blog about it – but… I didn’t post it on my Facebook page.  I decided that the blog may come off as hurtful to some of my “friends” who aren’t involved in any way about what I was saying, and I didn’t want to hurt anyone who was innocent in this.  I must be maturing on some level and I suppose on those levels – this is a good thing.

Still – I wonder why there are folks who believe they have all the answers and tell the rest of us how we should handle our lives.

Then again – on some level isn’t this what I do when I write about the inequalities that face the gay community and women in this United States?  On some level am I not telling you how to live your life so the gay community and those of us who are women will be able to live our lives?  I mean – if you are not of the mind that gays and women deserve equal rights I will come off as a preachy, in-your-face, crazy Lesbian, won’t I?

We all come at the world from where we live and where we have lived. Our experiences are all different; our levels of pain and suffering differ from person to person from life to life.  I don’t need or want someone telling me not to complain about something when that something is as important as equal rights for the gay community or women being thrown under the bus.  This is my world – this is my experience, this is what I know to be true in this world.

There are some things in this world that are just wrong no matter through what eyes you are looking at it.  None of us should stop complaining about people being hungry or homeless. None of us should stop complaining about kids and adults being bullied for who they are, and none of us should stop questioning politicians who run on a platform of hate. None of us should stop calling out those Christians who hide behind the bible in their unending quest to stigmatize the gay community, and none of us should stop complaining about how divisive politics has become in this country.

And women – well, what can I say?  Make your voice heard before you have no voice. Again.

So – this is what I’m saying…  I’m not going to stop writing about what I know to be inequalities in this world.  I’m not going to stop complaining or demanding that things change.  If this bothers you in any way – just don’t read and feel free to take me off of your list of friends. For the honest question would be this;  if you don’t see the inequalities I write of  or even try to understand, then you and I don’t really have much in common and are we really “friends?”

Yes, we can volunteer and help where possible,  but change can only come through some sort of complaining. Change can only occur when you touch a heart – then the mind starts to think…  I’ll listen to what you have to say – right up to the point where you tell me not to complain. Then, you’ve lost me, for change can only come through constant complaining and vigilance for what is right and just.

Margaret Mead  said it best: “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed people can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.”

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in beliefs, evangelical christians, faith, family, friends, gay, Gay Rights, home, human rights, Lesbian, life, love, Moral issues, politics, religion, Uncategorized, Women, Women's Rights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Complain: Express dissatisfaction or annoyance about a state of affairs or an event.

  1. I really adore your writing Barb. And I can be critical (e.g. its Margaret meAd!).
    But your clarity, integrity and humanity/humility shine through every passionate word you speak. I am honored to know you, and you can always count me a friend. xoxox

  2. susannakd says:

    I hear you on the Facebook complaint. Sometimes I just have to stop reading the news feed. http://meantforsomethingbetter.com/2012/02/28/facebook-lovehate/

    • barbaraweicksel says:

      I learned my lesson about reading the news feed! thanks for reading and for taking the time to comment.

  3. If you write, you will reassure those who agree, and perhaps make those who disagree think. Even if you are wrong you will progress the conversation, making someone think in order to refute you. Carry on writing, as long as you find it worthwhile.

    • barbaraweicksel says:

      Clare – Thanks so much for taking the time to read and for the comment. I believe my writing is one of the most worthwhile things I do. Like you said – progressing the conversation is an important part of the process. thanks again.

  4. Leslie ImKarn23 says:

    I so hear you, Barb! I don’t know whether i agree with your choice to be politically correct and not broach the ‘idiot’ directly – but – i’m sure you did the right thing under the circumstances! You do not come off as a ‘preachy lesbian’, but as a woman deeply concerned over the inequality in todays society – and how it seems to becoming worse – not better! If you’d like – please read my article “Question to GOP…” posted in WR – it is all about inequality to women and how politicians are trying harder than ever to control us through our vaginas and reproductive systems! No pressure, of course, but – i think you’ll appreciate the message!

    • barbaraweicksel says:

      Leslie – Thanks so much for taking the time to read and to comment. I value your opinion, and I’m grateful to have you in my life.. I’m off now to read your post on WR.. Thanks again… ♥

Leave a Reply

