Be a Part of the Solution – Not a part of the Problem – Do you really know what that means?


Be a part of the solution – not a part of the problem.   Sounds good when you read it, doesn’t it?  To me these are just words from those who have no idea what the problems really are.

Change doesn’t come easy, nor is it free. If it were as easy as just running for office to make the changes needed in this world, my name would be on the ballot tomorrow.  Running for office won’t change people’s hearts and minds.

Changing people’s hearts and minds starts at home and at church and at any other place where people gather to feel loved and accepted and cherished.

See – this is where the Christian do-gooders lose me.  Yes, they do good works – they volunteer, they clean up the city, they feed the hungry, and still they sit in a church that spends millions of dollars fighting against gays and lesbians.  Oh, they will tell you they don’t hate the gays – they just want them to not be gay or lesbian, and they certainly don’t want them to be able to marry or raise children or be accepted for who they are in this world.  I’m thinking of the whole “Judge not – lest ye be judged” thing here.

You either love everyone – or you don’t. You either want equal rights for everyone or you need to stop calling them equal rights.

Do not tell me what it is I must do to make change in this world unless and until you know and understand what it is that needs to be changed. Do not tell me that you’re a person of faith when you sit in a church, (that spends money you give them), making sure I can never marry the person I love.  This isn’t faith, this is sanctioned discrimination.  See it for what it is.  You aren’t doing God’s work; you’re doing the work of the Pastor who insists that you must keep certain sects of folks in their place.

You can do as many good deeds as you want in this world, and you can want people to look at you by what you do in this world – but – if you give money to, and follow the teachings of a church that is set on discrimination of certain people – what kind of person are you really?  Perception is reality here.  You can tell me what a wonderful person you are and you can volunteer 24/7 still… If you sit in a church that knowingly discriminates – that tells me what sort of person you are more than what your deeds will ever do.

Being part of the solution – aka making change – comes in many forms, but first one must know and understand what the problems really are to affect any sort of change.  We all come at life from our own life experiences, our own little bit of reality.  I write what I write about certain sects of religion because this is what touches my life – this is what affects how I live day-to-day. My writing about the inequalities and the discrimination is how I try to make change – one heart at a time. I try not to lump all Christians into my writings – but – if you sit in a church that you know discriminates against homosexuals – then I suppose you can feel that I’m writing about you.

And if that bothers you in any way – then perhaps you could…  Be a part of the solution – not a part of the problem…

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in beliefs, Change, evangelical christians, faith, family, friends, gay, human rights, life, love, Moral issues, politics, religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Be a Part of the Solution – Not a part of the Problem – Do you really know what that means?

  1. Michelle says:

    I couldn’t agree more!!!!

Leave a Reply

