The Fat Little Princess and the Dumbass.


I was doing some shopping last night and I was pondering which kind of bread I wanted when these two women descended on the bread aisle and proceeded to give those of us who were shopping a little show.

The one woman wanted to purchase a package of those little donuts for one of their daughters and was asking the woman with her which kind it was that the child liked.  I gathered from this little bit of information that these women were a couple, doing a little shopping for their family. The donut question turned into an argument as the woman who was asked about the donuts went into this loud speech about how buying donuts for this daughter would turn her into a “fat little princess just like her Mom.”  Granted the woman asking about the specific brand of donuts could stand to lose a pound or two, but the one who made the comment was not god’s gift to the world of beauty – if you know what I mean. It went from there into personal slurs and accusations and quite quickly the conversation turned mean and ugly and quite uncomfortable for those of us who just wanted to purchase some bread.  These women were vicious, and didn’t seem to care who heard the details of these life together.  I got my bread and I moved on.

Why do people stay in relationships that aren’t healthy? Obviously – these two women weren’t happy together, so why do they stay? Do they not have enough self-esteem to move on? Do they somehow think this is what they deserve?

I moved away from the fighting lesbian couple and made my way to the coffee aisle.  While looking over the coffee selection – I heard a women trying to explain to a man who was obviously her husband that they didn’t have the money to get what he wanted.  He wanted to know what happened to the $50.00 that they had gotten as a refund from something, and she was trying to tell him that it hadn’t been credited to their credit card yet – He said – and I quote: “I know how this shit works – I’m not a dumbass. What the hell did you spend the money on?”  Then he pushed the cart into her and stomped away like a little boy. And he doesn’t believe he’s a dumbass? The woman was embarrassed , but it was quite clear that this was something she tolerates on a daily basis as she straightened her shirt and pushed back her shoulders and moved her cart on down the aisle.

Again – why do people stay in relationships that aren’t healthy? I can only imagine how much better that woman’s life would be without that constant barrage of negative trash being thrown at her. I can only imagine what a confident woman she could be, instead of the sad, beaten woman I saw walking away from me.

It’s not an issue of gay or straight – the feelings are the same – the emotions are the same.  Love, sex, hurt, anger, laughter, tears – it’s all the same.  Why do people stay with another when they aren’t happy or fulfilled or loved?

And finally, why – oh – why do people fight in public?  I didn’t need to be drawn into either one of those feuds.  I wanted bread and coffee – I didn’t need to know about the fat little princess and the dumbass, but now that I do – I have to wonder… how are they all doing this morning, and did that little girl get her donuts?

 

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in beliefs, family, food, friends, gay, home, life, love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Fat Little Princess and the Dumbass.

  1. Barbara Gunn says:

    I believe people stay in abusive relationships because first they don’t believe they are worthy of something better and second they believe something is better than nothing.

  2. Barbie, do you have a Whole Foods nearby?

  3. Rena Nichole says:

    I am with you on the fighting in public thing.

    But as far as staying in relationships that aren’t healthy, I have my own two cents. While the display wasn’t appropriate, healthy, or good in any way shape or form, you don’t know the intricacies of their relationship. My hubs and I are far from perfect, and we say some down right nasty, rude, mean things that should never be uttered in the confines of “love”. But we’re newly-weds, and we have a lot lot lot lot of room where we need to grow, both individually and together. Even so, I wouldn’t trade being married to him for the world, and I’m pretty sure he feels the same. I don’t think I should leave my husband because I have a stupid temper and so does he, and we screw up sometimes (ok, a lot). LoL.

    The cart thing was a bit too far, sure, but up to a certain point, it’s just a matter of deciding if its a lack of growing issue, or a deeper seated issue. At least, that’s my opinion.

Leave a Reply

