The whole American process disturbs me…


It’s been over a week since my last post. As much as I wanted to keep my daily blog promise – I just couldn’t do it. It’s too depressing!

See – the headlines aren’t just headlines to me – some of the headlines are my life.  They aren’t words on a page – it’s what I live day-to-day.

I don’t need to watch a video of a lesbian couple being treated badly in a restaurant only to discover that it’s a TV show wanting to see how people will react when they are treated badly. I don’t need to watch it because I’ve lived it. If we focused more on making things right for people instead of setting up a tv shot – how might that help those of us who are not given seats or seated by the kitchen door or not served warm food or any of the other myriad of things that have happened to Susan and I in restaurants.  How about we stop pretending and just go out and speak the truth?

The whole Prop 8 thing here in California has taken a toll on me.  First we could get married – then – we couldn’t – now – we can – but we really can’t because it’s still tied up in court – We’re not cattle – we’re human beings with feelings and we are deserving of dignity and respect – like every human being.

The election fervor is as bad as I thought it would be – and it’s only February. I tuned it out – I stopped watching and reading and writing.  It’s despicable what these people will say and do to get a vote.

My faith in our entire election process has eroded to almost nothing. All this money being spent – on what? If these Super-Pacs can spend millions on one vote – imagine what our country would look like if they would spend the millions on helping the homeless or food banks or education or jobs. Imagine what that would look like!

And the attack on women in this country?  The whole birth control issue makes me wonder if women will ever be considered as equals, and how that fight for equality will never be over as long as religion tries to keeps women in their place – so to speak!

I’m just tired of all the poo.  I want us to start caring about each other and about the things that unite us, not the things that keep us all apart.  Elections tend to bring out the worst in people, Republicans, Democrats, Independents, whatever… They all lie and cheat and treat each other with such disdain that I wouldn’t trust any of them to actually do the right thing – in any circumstance.

Besides – it’s not about doing the right thing – I don’t think it’s ever been about doing the right thing. It’s about money – who has it and who wants it.  That’s American politics…

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in 2012, 2012 Presidential Election, beliefs, elections, evangelical christians, family, home and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The whole American process disturbs me…

  1. lizzygram says:

    I think I understand you and I think I can somehow feel some sympathany for you.

    I try not push my values, morals, religion, ideas, or any other beleif’s on to anyone. I do try however give you my honest beleif’s and opinion even on touchy issues.

    I am not racist or bias. But, I do have (like you) have rights to my values and morals. I find nothing wrong with one being gay or leisbeian. They are human beings. They have a right like me to be open. But, I am 60 years old and I just can’t morally bring myself to accept same sex marriage. Am I a horrible person for saying that???

    I feel it is somewhat perverse way of life. But, I can accept it…for what you do behind your closed doors is your business. Does this make you a horrible person??? My answer is NO, it doesn’t !!!

    But when it come down to openly flont your way of life in the public ……..I definitly have a problem with it. Marriage is for man and woman, to reproduce and keep this world going. How can same sex marriage achieve that??? Why do you feel the opposer of this are horrible??? I am not. I don’t even flont my relationship out in public ..even after 41 years.

    You can leave me a comment to help me understand you…this is the only way to get the right facts and try to understand such differences. If I offendend you in anyway …I am so sorry…for that isn’t my intentions.

    • barbaraweicksel says:

      You and I just look at the world from two different places. I see marriage as a contract between two people who love each other and want to spend their lives together. Take all the religion out of marriage – and that’s what it is. People who get married by a judge enter into a contract to love and honor each other. The wedding vows say nothing about having children and carrying on the world’s population. That’s the spin religion and politics have put on marriage. Gay and Lesbian couples adopt children – have children by surrogates – we carry on the business of raising a family.

      I’ll be 60 years old this year also – and I understand that you and I were raised in a different time – My partner and I were both married because that’s what people of our generation did – but you know what – those marriages didn’t work – because that wasn’t who we are. We’ve been together for over 30 years and we’ve raised her four children and have been a wonderful solid, steady force in the lives of our 7 grandchildren, and I think that needs to be valued for what it is. We don’t flaunt anything in public – we just want our relationship to be validated just like the relationship with your husband is. That’s all. Nothing more.

      Thanks for your comment, and for the respect you showed me. I appreciate that more than you know.

      • lizzygram says:

        We do see the world through different eyes. How are generations made?? Producing children keep the world going. I just don’t understand and I am trying hard to. I am not trying to knock you down or piss you off. Please help me.

  2. lizzygram says:

    please ignore this last comment for …I just found the whole comment you sent…….I just find it hard to swallow and I am so sorry to say that.

    • barbaraweicksel says:

      You should talk to our kids and our grand kids – they could tell you how it feels to have their Father and their Grandfather simply disappear from their lives. We didn’t force him out of their lives – we begged him to be involved – he chose to remarry and ignore his 4 children.

      We raised them, we were there for them emotionally and they are lawyers and college professors and teachers – We must have done something right..

      We have generations here – we’re a family – why can’t you just validate that?

  3. Michelle says:

    Oh, Barb…I couldn’t agree more. I TRIED reading the paper while out for a lovely brunch with my daughters, and after the first page I was finding myself get very depressed…Reading of the man who blew up his kids tore at my heart.

Leave a Reply

