January 22, 2012 – Does your smile reach your eyes?


Have you ever looked into the eyes of someone who isn’t happy?  You can tell the moment you look at someone where they are in their lives by looking at their eyes. Your eyes are the window to your soul.

I lived for years and years being unhappy. I know the drill – and as hard as I tried – my eyes would always tell the story. I’d be laughing and joking and living like my life was as it should be, but if you looked at my eyes they would have told you a completely different story. My smile never reached my eyes – although no one in my life at the time cared enough to notice that.

Why do we stay in relationships that don’t fulfill us? Sometimes we go through so much to be with a person that when the time finally arrives and you’re together – you discover that you’re not happy.  You wonder how that could be when for years all you wanted was to be with this person. You met in dark out-of-the-way places, you met in hotels in the middle of the afternoon, you had sex in places you never imagined sex was possible. You cheated on spouses, lied to family and friends all because this was the person you wanted. Turns out though, you were wrong – and yet – how does one leave after you went through so much and hurt so many on the road to happiness.

And so we stay…

Well – not all of us stay in marriages or relationships that are just wrong –  some of us find the courage to live a life where our smile reaches our eyes. I’m one of the lucky ones who finally got a smile that reaches my eyes. It took awhile, but I finally understood that I was responsible for me!

If you stay in a relationship where you’re not happy because you feel it would be way too complicated to get out – you’re wasting precious time. If you stay because you’re afraid you’ll get hurt if you leave – there are people who can help you. If you stay because you feel this is all you deserve – again – there are people who can help you. If you stay because you don’t want to give up any of the perks that may come with the relationship – well – look in your eyes and see if the perks are worth what you may see. You don’t need another person in your life to make you happy. Happiness comes from within – from you.

Life is too short to just settle for a life that’s anything other than loving and joyous.

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in friends, life, love and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

