January 21, 2012 – Paula Deen and her Southern Charm


I’ve tried to stay out of the Paula Deen fray because – well because I love her show.  I love that laugh of hers and I love how in the early shows she had that adorable dog who just sort of laid around anywhere he wanted to. It really was his house and she was just sort of visiting as the house and the dog belonged to her producer.

I loved the show where she and her husband Michael were in Paris and he surprised her by bringing her sons, and yes – I loved her wedding show. I’ll admit it – I like her.

Did I ever cook one of her recipes? No I did not. Did I know the cooking wasn’t healthy? Of course I did – Anyone with a brain or at the very least some common sense would know the food wasn’t all that good for you. In moderation, of course, but as a daily way of cooking? Of course not.

She wasn’t standing in your kitchen shoving the food down your throat – you have a brain – you figure out if it’s good for you.

I’m not naive enough to believe that Paula Deen’s life revolves around me. It’s her life and I’m sure a diagnosis of Type 2 Diabetes would be devastating for any of us to handle. Should she have announced it before she signed the deal with the drug company? – perhaps – but who’s to say? It’s not my life – and I don’t know about you but I have enough trouble keeping my own life in some sort of order I can’t imagine judging decisions other’s may make about their lives.

Just because Paula Deen is on television doesn’t mean we own her. She’s just a person on television making a very nice living for herself. I’d love to sit and have a cup of coffee with her but… she doesn’t owe me anything -I don’t own her. We think sometimes that just because a person is on television that we have some sort of ownership of them or that they owe us something because we made them famous.   We do not – and we can’t blame them for what is wrong in our lives.

It’s not Paula Deen making  you gain weight or eat food that isn’t healthy for you. Paula Deen is a celebrity and what she’s selling is pure southern charm. Like her or don’t like her but you can not blame her for what you eat.

If you want to blame anyone for that – you must look in a mirror. Educate yourself, take responsibility for your own life. It’s far too easy to blame someone you don’t know for what you percieve to be wrong with your life.  Paula Deen made me eat fried chicken – Guy Fieri made me eat burgers and fries and pancakes at a diner, a drive-in or a dive – I cut my finger off trying to be an Iron Chef – Seriously – take responsibility for your own life.

The real work comes when we understand that we are the only ones who can control our own destiny. The stuff on television is simply that – the stuff on television.

 

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in food, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 21, 2012 – Paula Deen and her Southern Charm

  1. Michelle says:

    Well said, my friend…well said.
    I am a huge fan of Paula Deen, because she got where she was on her own…and she still has that smile and charm that won me over from the beginning…I may not cook her recipes, but I sure get good ideas from them!

  2. Ellen says:

    I’m a huge fan of Paula Deen’s (I really think I can “do” her). However, she is claiming that she’s always been about moderation and that is simply not true. She has always been about excess. Had she just once said something like

    “Now, if, like me, you need to watch what you eat, you get yourself a friend and split this”

    or anything to suggest there’s another way, I wouldn’t be holding this against her.

    But she didn’t. Not until she was pressed.

    There’s another aspect: She’s advertising a diabetes medicine and promoting cooking with pounds of butter. That says to people that you can keep eating the pounds of butter as long as you take the pills she is pushing.

    That isn’t right.

    We might not own her, but to a great extent, she owes us. And we do have a right to expect her to respect that debt.

    We’re gonna disagree on this one, Barb!

Leave a Reply

