January 20, 2012 – the best things in life


I buy and read every month the Science of Mind magazine.  There are always articles that make me know and understand that there really is a rhythm to the world and that all things are possible every day.   There is also a daily story to make you sit up and take notice and also a daily affirmation.  The little story for this day; Friday, January 20, 2012 is called: “the best things in life.”

This little piece confirmed in my mind that my thoughts the past few months are pretty much spot on – at least for me in my life.  This small article stressed that everything of true value in your life is free. Love, Wisdom, Joy, Peace, Health – these are all freely given if you’re open to receive them.  These are the things we all need the most in our lives. These are the things that matter most.

This article reinforced my belief that none of us need any more “stuff.” We all have more than we will ever need. What we all need is love and peace and time spent with the people who help to nurture our spirits. We shouldn’t go out and buy something for someone because we feel obligated to buy them something. Why not give them something they really need – write them a poem to inspire them, tell a friend how much you treasure their friendship, give your teenager or a teen you know the encouragement they need to keep going. Give your loved one a huge hug – not the kind that only takes a second – give the kind where you wrap your arms around them and hold them close.  These are the things that will nurture others spirits and their souls as well as your own.

I just think we expect too much from people sometimes when we give them nothing in return.  We expect gifts and “things” when we’ve done nothing to nurture any sort of relationship with them.  It shouldn’t be about the gifts it should be about being thankful and grateful you even have that person in your life. If all you expect from someone is a gift and it doesn’t come – who is really to blame? The person for not sending it or you for not nurturing the relationship?

Mostly, I believe we have to take the time to nurture our own spirit and know what’s really important to us. If we don’t take care of ourselves and our own spirit how can we possibly nurture those who need us. Read books that inspire you, listen to music that makes your heart sing, exercise, meditate, grab your camera and take some pictures. Call a friend, write a letter, sit down and write a poem or a story or – well – a blog!  We never know who we touch with our words and our attention.

I’m just going to quote the last paragraph of this article because it just says it all: “God doesn’t care where you work, what you drive, or how you dress. The best things in life really are free.”  ♥

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in family, friends, home, life, love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January 20, 2012 – the best things in life

  1. Kate Flannery says:

    I love how you think! I love how you express yourself, as well! This is beautiful and uplifting!

Leave a Reply

