January 16, 2012 – Surround yourself with love ♥


I’ve finally come to understand that life is all about what is visceral to each of us is what we act on.  It’s what we feel, what we experience what we know in our lives to be true; those are the things that we are most passionate about.  One can feel compassion for another, but if it’s not on your radar, then you just don’t know.

We surround ourselves with people who have the same passions, the same understandings about the way of the world because that’s where we feel most comfortable, most at peace and most able to cope with what the world may be throwing at us.

To surround yourself with people who don’t see life as you do, or even try to understand your view, is like walking head-on into a gale force wind every day of your life. You will eventually get where you want to go – but good God, the struggle to get there could kill you.

There will always be one or two people who will never understand what you’re trying to say and will offer their view as some sort of guidance for you.  PPFFTT… Like any straight, evangelical woman could possibly know how it feels to be a lesbian, and know of the daily struggles in my life, in the same way, I will never know the turmoil in the daily life of a straight, evangelical Christian woman. I don’t even try to pretend that I do, and I would never, ever tell her how to live her life. It is after all – her life. I don’t begrudge her her life, nor do I wish or want bad things for her, I just don’t understand it.

Life is not a competition – its just life. We all have our crosses to bear in one way or another. Surround yourself with love and people who don’t judge you. Be with people who accept you for the person you are and expect nothing more from you than to be who you are. And don’t expect too much of yourself – when we do that we set ourselves up to fail because we can’t ever, ever be more than what we are.

Life is short – too short to try to be something you’re not or someone you’re not. You know what’s right for you and who is right for you. Surround yourself with love and don’t put up with anything less…

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in faith, friends, love. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January 16, 2012 – Surround yourself with love ♥

  1. Absolutely true. I have spent years wondering why people could not be happy, I was but there seemed to be a determination to change that or was it me? Anyway, I have been very happy for many, many years now, without too much angst because I simply abandoned the wonder of why they were the way they were and chose not to let it enter my existence. Once in a while I feel a little something, but mostly, I just go along and do what I do and they are simply not a part. It is best. Nice writing and good message.

Leave a Reply

