January 13, 2012 – Tim Tebow – Yes, I’m going there.


Yes, I’m going into the fray that is Denver Bronco Quarterback, Tim Tebow.

I have no problem with him being a Christian. That is his right as an American citizen.  My problem arises with him bringing his Christianity into the realm of NFL football.  I wonder; would he be such an icon or hero if you will, if he was a member of the KKK or a part of the Church of Scientology or perhaps a dog killer?  And how about, God forbid, he was a Muslim? Would the stadium be filled with that yell the Muslim’s do to call people to prayer? Oh hell no, he probably wouldn’t be allowed to play the game if he was a Muslim. I’m sure Homeland Security would say he was some sort of terrorist threat to the public, and he wouldn’t be allowed on the field – most certainly he wouldn’t be allowed to turn to Mecca and pray each time his team scored a touchdown.

It’s always the evangelical Christians who believe they can be everywhere and do anything because the founding fathers would want it that way. No other religion has that right – it’s only the Christians that are ordained by God. It’s like everything else these evangelical Christians get involved in, it’s just messed up.  Just like they have stepped in and messed up the government, they now have infiltrated the world of professional football. Is nothing sacred to those of us who simply want to watch the game?

It’s bad enough that we have grown men making millions of dollars acting like petulant little boys most of the time. It’s also bad enough that we make these perfectly human men out to be something they most surely are not – heroes. And now, now we have a man who is being made out to be something he most surely is not – a great quarterback – simply because he prays while he plays.

Again – I don’t care that he’s a Christian – by all means get down on one knee and pray like millions of other Americans, just don’t do it on the football field. If I’m a season ticket holder, I’m not paying thousands of dollars to go to a football game to watch grown men in uniforms pray.

I don’t want to even see them point to the sky after every play – really – these are the same guys pointing to the sky who have been arrested for DUI and domestic abuse or any other number of crimes. Yeah – they believe that Jesus is on their shoulder as they pass over the end zone.  Seriously, they simply want the camera to catch them in that point to Jesus moment – why else would they rip their helmets off so quickly and watch themselves on the Jumbotron?

Let football be football and religion be religion. One does not belong with the other.

About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in faith, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to January 13, 2012 – Tim Tebow – Yes, I’m going there.

  1. Kate Flannery says:

    Amen!!! (Sorry, I just couldn’t help myself). But, seriously, I couldn’t agree with you more. It’s also the antithesis of being a sincere “Christian” – you’re not supposed to be calling attention to yourself – making a spectacle of yourself…Jesus was humble (by most accounts) and not showy – “look at how devout I am!” And the whole idea of God involving himself in who wins or who loses at sports is absolutely the height of narcissim!

  2. Erin O'Meara says:

    i couldn’t agree more with ALL you say here. professional athletes are overpaid, hypocritical babies. can’t wait to hear the arguments of all those evangelicals when tebow loses or gets knocked off that pedestal so many have put him on.

Leave a Reply

