January 8, 2012 – The Holidays are over!


So, today I forced myself to take down the Christmas tree and all the outside decorations. 


I don’t understand folks who put their tree up right before Christmas and then tear it down the minute Christmas is over.  I never understood why one would even bother with all the trouble of putting all the decorations up if you aren’t going to sit and enjoy it.


The years I wasn’t in the mood, I simply didn’t put a tree up.  When it was something I knew was going to be more of a pain than a joy – I didn’t put it up.


We all know that just going through the motions of life isn’t really living life.  If you’re heart isn’t in something – then just don’t do it.  when it takes more effort to live a lie than live in your truth, then it’s time to regroup.


Life isn’t about hurrying through it. It’s about watching the sun rise and set. It’s about surrounding yourself with people and things that make you smile and make you feel loved and appreciated. 


If having candles in your home makes you smile – then light those babies! If growing flowers or plants makes you feel one with the earth – then buy those pots or plow that earth!  Read books, listen to music, laugh with your partner, take a road trip if possible. Nothing brings people together like a road trip filled with audio books, singing, laughter, talking, Starbucks, and junk food!


Life is short. Live it doing what you love and what makes you feel happy and fulfilled. Do not waste time doing what you feel is expected of you for some people can never be satisfied no matter how hard you try.  Be happy.



About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to January 8, 2012 – The Holidays are over!

  1. Cheryl says:

    Road trip – I like that idea.

  2. barb, I am beginning to wonder if you are my life long missing sister. Love your words and messages, as they mirror my own thoughts (hehe) but truly are an inspiration. Took me years to get to this place in life, but it truly is a great place indeed. ❤

  3. Kate says:

    This is perfect, Barb!!! I'd have to quote nearly every single line you wrote in order to adequately let you know how meaningful this post is to me! A couple in particular – "We all know that just going through the motions of life isn't really living life." "Life isn't about hurrying through it." There's something about the way you write, when even if I basically know the truth you are stating, somehow you make it more alive and validating. Wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

