And so it begins… January 1, 2012


And so the 2012 Share the Love Project officially begins…  Happy New Year…


As I sit here in front of our Christmas tree with the lights glowing in my face – I’m wondering how I can talk Susan into letting me keep it up all year. I love how it makes the house seem softer and warmer and I love how it silently says: “Come on over here – let me give you a hug.”

I have to wonder – if the tree were up all year would I feel it was as special or as magical?  Would it simply become something I see every day and then begin to take it for granted.  Would I just figure it would always be there and not feel so happy and blessed to be spending time with it?

Life isn’t about the money or the power or the cars and the big house and expensive clothes.  It’s not about ipads and iphone and blackberry’s and streaming movies into your house. – although I have to say I do love the Netflix on my Blue-ray player!

You can have all of latest and greatest things and still have nothing if you don’t understand that these “things” really don’t matter. Take away the things and what do you have?  

It’s about love and respect and compassion, for yourself and for others. It’s about doing the right thing – which, by the way,  isn’t always the easiest thing.

It’s about taking away all of the “things” and still be able to be happy and content with your life. It’s about having a life based on love, respect and happiness and not on possessions.

Take nothing for granted – take no one for granted.  Life is short. 

“Come on over here – let me give you a hug.”








About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And so it begins… January 1, 2012

  1. I couldn't agree more! ❤

  2. Erin says:

    i loved this! so many don't seem to get that it's the love that matters most.

Leave a Reply

