December 31, 2011: The Year in Review


2011 brought many wonderful places and people into my life.  It was a year that brought joy and wonder into my life, and I’d like to believe it was a year that brought some personal growth to this 59 year-old woman.

I’ve learned some of those all-important life lessons before it was too late to put them into practice, like letting go of anger I’d been holding in my heart for a very long time… 

Susan and I experienced graduations of grandsons from High School and Middle School – We traveled to Houston and spent 5 glorious days with our dear friend Cheryl.  We traveled to London and Paris and had the most magical time with our son Todd and his wife Sue.

My friend Debi came to San Diego and we shared a week of laughs and  joyous times after not seeing each other for over 40 years.

We celebrated Susan’s 70th Birthday with a big ole party and wished for many more as she blew out her candles.

We celebrated the 4th of July with a big neighborhood party that reminded us all how blessed we were to have such neighbors and family and friends.

We celebrated Christmas with our youngest Grandchildren Teagan and Finn ages 7 and 4 and were reminded of the power and wonder of Santa Claus!

I was blessed to meet new people and make new friends who encourage me on this writing adventure of mine – sweet, funny, kind souls from all over the world who have come into my life and made me realize how small the world really is.

I’ve made a friend in New York who I believe I’ve known my whole life.  I’ve never met Kate – but… I think she’s the twin I always asked my Mother to give me.

I saw my brother for the first time in about 9 years and we are in communication with each other taking baby steps to reacquaint ourselves and slowly redefine this whole brother / sister thing that never really worked out for us.

My Mother is doing as well as she can be as dementia slowly takes more and more of her away from us.  I treasure the talks on the phone with her, and I’m thankful every day that she’s in a place that gives her the best care anyone could ever ask for.

And mainly – I have Susan in my life to make my life complete.  We grow old together and we laugh and love and laugh and love.  She is the best part of me – and I can’t imagine a day without her in it.

Finally – this little man – River Thomas came into our lives in November.♥♥ How can you look at his face and not want the world to be a better place for him.  A place of love and peace… This is the future – this is what matters for us all…
Bring on 2012 – 
About barbaraweicksel

My home is San Diego, CA - a most beautiful city. Mountains to the East, Pacific Ocean to the West, and the desert in between the mountains and the ocean. Beauty everywhere, but... The world is full of beauty, and I do love to travel. what I hope to share on these pages are my thoughts and some photos of the world as I see and experience it. I'd be happy to have you along on the journey - and then join me while I'm at home...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to December 31, 2011: The Year in Review

  1. Jan Bird says:

    Lovely blog and beautiful photo Barb … and I love the title too! Sharing love is such a wonderful aspiration.

Leave a Reply

